Strange Fruit

It’s with an almost disturbing frequency that throughout my life I’ve been referred to as a “freak”.  Today, I’m happy to report that this no longer bothers me. 

I’ve learned that my freakiness seems to shine brightest when I’m at my most passionate and argumentative.  Both of these attributes have rocked the boat of my family dynamic a few times (not surprisingly as I’m the only redhead in the bunch), but as my years have progressed and I’ve become more fervent in my beliefs, I’ve found that the people closest to me have accepted me for my progressive mentality and no longer push me to revert to being the little religious, ignorant nerd I was in high school.


Or they’ve just given up dealing with me. Which is actually more likely, but not the point.


The point is that the fear of retribution, consternation, disappointment and hatred keeps us from acting out in many ways.  “Freak” is an unkind sentiment and an impossible branding to shake.  Kids know this.  Adults do too.  That’s why it’s so easy to lob it at people we don’t like and/or don’t understand.  But hey, “sticks and stones”, right?


“Freak” is “aberration”, “abnormality”, “weirdo” and “nutcase”; but it’s also “devotee”, “lover”, “aficionado” (but not this kind), and “enthusiast”.  It is passion. It’s also being so passionate about something, you feel the fire of generations of people who have loved the same thing burning up from your insides until your eyes water with happiness, rage, frustration, and ardor.  (Since I’m still relatively young, I can afford to be poetic about these things, though I’m sure as I get older I’ll just start confusing them with gas.)


In other words, what I’m talking about here is revolution.  Learning that we are the cogs and that we have the power to turn the wheels of the “powers that be” machines so that they start working in our favor for a change.  


And welcome to the kernel of my blog:
One of the most legendary revolutionaries of all time (Not interested in guessing?) once said, “The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe.  You have to make it fall.”  As one/7 billionth of the world’s human population, we as individuals might be the molecules of the masses, but don’t be fooled.  Our connected, collective movement can affect the motion of the universe.  (God, I love the Science Channel.)  


Basically, if we want to make the apple fall, we’ve got to shake the tree together.  


And that’s where allowing yourself to be a freak comes in.  The freak that exists in all of us can be a friend to society.  That we’re all going to find something freaky in each other is one of the guarantees we can have outside of death and taxes.  Let the motivation that pushes you to be freaky, different, extravagant or conventional (which I find particularly weird) fling you into the passion of revolution.  There’s a genuine power in that linkage we seek, and when we find it, then finally, the bad apples of our generations will be at our feet.

