The O’Reilly Fracture

A friend of a friend recently posted this part one of a two-part interview with Jon Stewart on the O’Reilly Factor:

Here was my response:

“I’ll be honest – and please know before I say this that I am not a Fox News fan nor much of a Bill O’Reilly fan – but I feel strongly that O’Reilly is at a point there where he’s showing his true colours.  The man is disenchanted with the network, and he’s allowing this type of discourse on purpose to give people like Stewart a platform.  I have always applauded these exchanges based on their entertainment value alone, but more recently because Stewart inevitably comes out smelling like roses, and O’Reilly appears to be finding less and less common ground with the Fox party line.”

In an odd sort of way, there’s some more proof of that sentiment in part two:

Fed up Fox News “reporter” with an actual admiration for “leftist” Jon Stewart?  I am fully aware of the gravity of the claim I”m making here, but think about it:  When else has O’Reilly allowed such a diametrically opposed guest to get so much as a word in edgewise, let alone multiple complete sentences?  How seriously does he seem to be taking this argument about Common?  Why else would he wear his “date night” tie?

It’s been clear to me for some time that Bill is finding it harder and harder to keep a straight face at work.  The nonsensical remarks of his “co-workers” are probably wearing thin, and let’s be honest here, Bill’s not a dumb guy.  Sure, he’s a bit of a hothead (see: “F*%# it!  Do it live!”), and sure, he’s got that über-Christian thing going on (see: Scared by Richard Dawkins), but how do you expect to make it on a channel like Fox News without at least a modicum of those qualities?

Thank you Gearlive.com
Well, you get my point.

